Fallout 3, LittleBigPlanet Win Big At GDC Awards

LittleBigPlanet walked away with four awards, but Fallout 3 came out on top at last night's 9th annual Game Developers Choice Awards. For those of you who missed the liveblog, here's the rundown.

Despite Fallout 3 taking home the awards for Best Writing and Game of the Year, last evening's festivities were all about Media Molecule's LittleBigPlanet. When it was first revealed back at GDC 2007, we had a feeling they'd be showing up at the annual awards ceremony eventually, and that feel was right. Sackboy managed to drag away four awards in total: Innovation, Best Technology, Best Game Design, and Best Debut, the latter of which caused Media Molecule's recipient to quip, ""Best new debut? We've been doing this shit for 20 years!""

God of War: Chains of Olympus, World of Goo, Prince of Persia, and Dead Space also received awards during the evening, the full list of which you'll find below.

It wasn't all about the games, either, with three special awards given out to industry professionals. Alex Rigopulos and Eran Egozy received the Pioneer Award for creating Guitar Hero and Rock Band, while composer Tommy Tallarico was given the Ambassador Award for his work on bringing video game music to the masses. Finally, Metal Gear creator Hideo Kojima was rightfully awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award for his work on Zone of the Enders and some military espionage series.

Check out the full list below, and be sure to give your winning games a pat on the back cover.

The recipients of the 9th Annual Game Developers Choice Awards are:

2008 Best Game Design

2008 Best Visual Art

2008 Best Technology

2008 Best Writing

2008 Best Audio

2008 Best Debut

2008 Innovation

2008 Best Handheld Game

2008 Best Downloadable Game

2008 Game of the Year

2009 Special Awards Recipients

These three special honors, selected by the Game Developers Choice Awards advisory board, will be presented at the ceremony.
Lifetime Achievement
The Lifetime Achievement Award recognises the career and achievements of a developer who has made an indelible impact on the craft of game development and games as a whole.

* Hideo Kojima

Pioneer Award
The Pioneer Award (formerly known as the First Penguin Award) celebrates those individuals who developed a breakthrough technology, game concept, or gameplay design at a crucial juncture video game history - paving the way for the myriads who followed them.

* Alex Rigopulos and Eran Egozy

Ambassador Award
The Ambassador Award honors an individual or individuals who have helped the game industry advance to a better place, either through facilitating a better game community from within, or by reaching outside the industry to be an advocate for video games and help further our art.

* Tommy Tallarico


    [Warning: Fallout 3 spoiler]

    It's a shame that Fallout 3 wins the best writing award when the end situation was such a mess. Them not taking into account that you could have a radiation resistant mutant with you is a huge plot hole.

Join the discussion!

Trending Stories Right Now