Your Comprehensive Guide To Just When The Hell L4D2 Will Unlock

We deal with "midnight" a lot as an embargo time, and you know, it's always confusing. Valve knows, and has laid out specifically when Left 4 Dead 2 (PC) will unlock in all the major time zones of the world.

Says Valve, on the L4D2 blog:

Due to an ongoing debate in the office and online as to whether "12 AM" means noon or midnight (we're still sticking with midnight), it's been more challenging than we realised to tell people when exactly our game will be available. Factor in the Earth rotating around the sun, daylight savings time, some of our fans insisting on using the Mayan calendar, and we're just going to try and make this as specific as possible:

Alright, ready? Get out your pens, flip open your calendars, synchronise your watches, take your index finger and stick it in the middle of your palm to form a sundial, however you keep time. Here's when Left 4 Dead 2 unlocks:

• Monday, Nov. 16, 9 p.m. Pacific Standard Time • Monday, Nov. 16, 10 p.m. Mountain Standard Time • Monday, Nov. 16, 11 p.m. Central Standard Time • Tuesday, Nov. 17, 12 a.m. (midnight) Eastern Standard Time • Tuesday, Nov. 17, 5 a.m. Greenwich Mean Time • Tuesday, Nov. 17, 8 a.m. Moscow Time • Tuesday, Nov. 17, 2 p.m. Japan Standard Time • Tuesday, Nov. 17, 4 p.m. Sydney Eastern Daylight Time

As you can see, the US west coast gets a three-hour head start (technically) against the console street-date, London and Moscow will be getting up or on the train to work, and Tokyo's hosed. Hey, I don't make the rules.

Now that we've cleared that up, you might want to pre-load that six-gigabyte sucker, so that you're not waiting an additional zillion hours to download the game on unlock day. A Slight Clarification ... [Left 4 Dead Blog via VE3D]


Comments

    There's actually an argument "as to whether “12 AM” means noon or midnight..."? /facepalm. No wonder Valve can't come up with a new game engine or learn to program for the PS3.

    The whole 12AM thing is because l4d came out at midnight, so they assumed everyone would catch their drift, you can see how that turned out, I thought it was coming out on the 18th so im happy to know that its coming out sooner, Also to the person above me, the reason Valve doesn't make a new engine is because making a new engine is redundant with a company as small as valve, they don't have the time to waste when they can just update one of the most stable and best engines to date, along with the PS3 they don't have the time to recode everything, think of them as a PC exclusive company with part time investment in Xbox360, remember that the latter will never get the full support until Valve expands, which would most likely stop them from being the best, as large companies means more navigation amongst itself. (eg. Microsoft)

    Can't wait til L4D2!

Join the discussion!

Trending Stories Right Now