The Curtain Rises On Guitar Hero: Warriors Of Rock

The Curtain Rises On Guitar Hero: Warriors Of Rock

Activision reveals the next entry in the Guitar Hero franchise, Warriors of Rock, featuring more than 90 tracks, a Gene Simmons-powered quest mode, and new challenges for every track in the Guitar Hero catalogue. Check out the first 35 tracks!

The biggest change coming to the Guitar Hero franchise in Warriors of Rock is the story-driven quest mode, featuring Gene Simmons of Kiss and giant tongue fame, taking players on a journey from the famous CBGBs club to the molten lava fields of rock treachery. Eight Guitar Hero characters transform into Warriors of Rock in order to help the demi-god of rock take down The Beast. It almost sounds a bit like Brutal Legend. Plus, we get to see Gene Simmons hamming it up as the demi-god himself!

“The world is a boring place. Come with me, and enter a world populated of Demi-Gods and Beasts. Transform from an everyday person and become the savior of rock and roll,” said Gene Simmons of KISS. “It was an honour and privilege to narrate Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock, even more so, to voice the Demi God. From the God of Thunder to the Demi-God, how cool is that…”

Of course, we already knew about this. We’ve even seen a brief trailer. Still, official confirmation is nice.

What didn’t we know? The game will boast the biggest on-disc track listing of any rhythm game, just like every new Guitar Hero release does, including a track written and recorded by Dave Mustaine of Megadeth especially for the game’s quest mode. There’s even a new guitar controller in the works, inspired by the game’s new art style.

On top of all that, the game also adds new challenges to every song in the Guitar Hero library, breathing new life into tired old music.

As for the new music, here’s the first 35 tracks revealed for Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock:

• AFI – “Dancing Through Sunday”
• Anthrax – “Indians”
• Avenged Sevenfold – “Bat Country”
• Black Sabbath – “Children Of The Grave”
• Buzzcocks – “What Do I Get?”
• Children Of Bodom – “If You Want Peace… Prepare For War”
• The Cure – “Fascination Street”
• Def Leppard – “Pour Some Sugar On Me (Live)”
• Dethklok – “Bloodlines”
• Dire Straits – “Money For Nothing”
• DragonForce – “Fury of the Storm”
• Drowning Pool – “Bodies”
• Fall Out Boy – “Dance, Dance”
• Foo Fighters – “No Way Back”
• Foreigner – “Feels Like The First Time”
• The Hives – “Tick Tick Boom”
• Jane’s Addiction – “Been Caught Stealing”
• Jethro Tull – “Aqualung”
• KISS – “Love Gun”
• Linkin Park – “Bleed It Out”
• Megadeth – “Sudden Death”
• Metallica & Ozzy Osbourne – “Paranoid (Live)”
• Muse – “Uprising”
• My Chemical Romance – “I’m Not Okay (I Promise)”
• Night Ranger – ” (You Can Still) Rock In America”
• Nine Inch Nails – “Wish”
• The Offspring – “Self Esteem”
• Queen – “Bohemian Rhapsody”
• Rammstein – “Waidmanns Heil”
• The Rolling Stones – “Stray Cat Blues”
• Silversun Pickups – “There’s No Secrets This Year”
• Slayer – “Chemical Warfare”
• Slipknot – “Psychosocial”
• Stone Temple Pilots – “Interstate Love Song”
• ZZ Top – “Sharp Dressed Man (Live)”

Hooray for less unknown music and more good old rock!

Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock is being developed by Neversoft for the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3, with Vicarious Visions handling the Wii version. Look for it this spring.


  • But unknown music can be good.

    Well, to me at least. The majority of Guitar Hero 2 and 3’s music was unknown to me 😛

  • “including a track written and recorded by Dave Mustaine of Megadeth especially for the game’s quest mode”.

    Does this mean we can expect the next band specific game to be GH: Megadeth.

  • Thank the maker. There’s more rock/metal in that snippit of a list than there is in like, all of GH:WT and GH5 put together…

  • I hope they’ll offer up Megadeth’s Head Crusher up as DLC, that would fit perfectly to the bands theme of Shred metal. I am happy to see A7X is getting a bit more love, Beast and the Harlot was one of my favorite GH2 songs, and Bat Country is a good song too.

    I can’t really fault the set list so far, quite a good few in there, including Psychosocial by Slipknot, let’s hope they keep it up for all 90 odd tracks. But I can’t help feel that this is a hurt retaliation to Brutal Legend lol.

  • ’bout bloody time, setlists since world tour have been crap, good to see they are returning to the “rock” aspect

  • This is the best looking set list to me
    Avenged Sevenfold
    Black Sabbath
    Children Of Bodom
    Linkin Park
    Metallica & Ozzy
    And that is a third of the total setlist

  • Anyone else notice that a lot of these tracks are already available as DLC on Rock Band?

    • Avenged Sevenfold – “Bat Country”
    • Drowning Pool – “Bodies”
    • Foreigner – “Feels Like The First Time”
    • The Hives – “Tick Tick Boom”
    • Night Ranger – ” (You Can Still) Rock In America”
    • The Offspring – “Self Esteem”
    • Queen – “Bohemian Rhapsody”
    • Slipknot – “Psychosocial”
    • Stone Temple Pilots – “Interstate Love Song”

    Yeap you can download and play these tracks right now on Rock Band…Just another reason why Guitar Hero is irrelevant at this point

  • How is Guitar Hero irrelevant at this point?

    Guitar Hero is what started the franchise.

    I’m not gonna start a fanboy post on what’s better but you are loving the wrong game 😛

    I don’t know if all that DLC is free, but if it isn’t it’s going to cost almost as much as a new GH game anyway.

    And if you were smart you would realise that the people looking forward to GH WoR probably don’t have RockBand and probably won’t get it (and pay like $200-$300 for it) just to download 10 songs that they could get in another GH game

    • Guitar Hero started it is True but that was with Harmonix at the helm – the same Harmonix who make Rock Band a far superior game to GH – the DLC model that Rock BAnd utilises kills anything Activision do with the GH franchise after flogging it to death…

Show more comments

Log in to comment on this story!