Want To Know What The Hell 'Bravely Default' Means?

Bravely Default: Flying Fairy is Square Enix's newest RPG on the 3DS; and while it may technically be a new IP, it shares a lot in common with the famous JRPGs of yore.

The gameplay is your typical turn-based system, but with one new twist: the "brave" and "default" system. By selecting "default" on your turn, you can defend the turn and save it for later. When you want to use this saved turn later, you select "brave". You can save up to three turns and therefore unleash four attacks total, if you so choose. You can even "brave" if you haven't saved any turns; however, you must pay for it by losing your next few turns.

The game also features a robust job system with many classic jobs from other similar titles. As you level up, you level up your base level and job level separately. You are also able to access the spells/skills of one other job in addition to the one you have currently equipped. As you progress through the game, you face bosses which, when defeated, drop a new job crystal for your arsenal.

To see how Bravely Default: Flying Fairy plays in action, check out the video above.

Bravely Default: Flying Fairy was released for the Nintendo 3DS on October 11, 2012, in Japan. There is currently no word on an international release.


    English localization, Squenix. You know you want to.

    FF Type-0 while you're at it :(

    I can't help but feel there'll be a combo system attached to this, considering it'll give a big incentive to 'defaulting' more often.

    Still, it looks like another Final Fantasy game that takes a lot from Final Fantasy V, which isn't a bad thing. It's nothing all that new though. All they're really offering is a new... Perk? Ability? Option? to battles. I'll be waiting to see what else they do with the game and battle system before getting my hopes up.

    This makes me want to go and play Four Heroes of Light again. The AP system was a lot of fun.

Join the discussion!

Trending Stories Right Now