Remove Your Mobile Authenticator Before Upgrading To iOS 7

Remove your Mobile Authenticator Before Upgrading To iOS 7

Blizzard's mobile Authenticator is a handy way to secure your StarCraft, World of Warcraft and Diablo accounts from rampant hackers, unless a major iOS upgrade screws it up. Then you're in for a headache.

Brought to players's attention a couple of days ago on Blizzard's forums, in some cases upgrading from iOS 6-something to the shiny new iOS 7 could result in a reset of the Mobile Authenticator app. Having the app enabled means that every time you log in to your account, you must enter the code randomly generated by the app. If it resets, there's no logging in, period.

It's suggested that players log into their account before upgrading, temporarily disable the service, and then re-enable it after the upgrade is complete. Users can also take down their authenticator serial number and restore code, using those to restore the app after the upgrade.

If it's too late to turn back now, you've got two options.

If you're signed up for Blizzard's free SMS protect service, removing the authenticator is just a coded text away. If not, you're going to have to get in touch with customer service, sit in a chat queue, and fax proof of your identity to have the safeguard removed. It's a bit of a pain.

Security can be really inconvenient sometime, but it's totally worth it. I had my World of Warcraft account hacked twice before authentication came along, and wouldn't disable it unless iOS 7 forced me to.


    Good to know this one. Just have to remember when I upgrade tonight.

    i always forget to do it when i upgrade my phone. you don't have to sit in the chat queue, just open a support ticket and they email you back reasonably quick

    I just upgraded to iOS 7 - I made sure I backed up my restore key for authenticator - went to check the authenticator post upgrade and it worked fine for me - seems this is a hit and miss scenario - I did get asked to apply my custom settings to my phone so maybe that had something to do with it. Im guessing if you said no to applying your settings it resets the apps to their initial install state.

    You can use your serial number and restore code to restore the app if you lose it. They're in a bit of a weird place though. About -> choose need a new code and it will tell you your current serials before asking to confirm.

Join the discussion!

Trending Stories Right Now