How To Watch The 2017 Melbourne Cup, Live And Online And Free

When is the Melbourne Cup on?Image: Getty Images

Australians, for better or worse, like to have a punt. And there's no bigger day for that than our annual horse race - the Melbourne Cup. If you want to keep track of proceedings, here's how you can watch it online and for free, as well as advice for ex-pats who need a hand tuning in.

Melbourne Cup 2017: Watch The Live Stream Here!

What time is the Melbourne Cup on?

The Melbourne Cup kicks off at Flemington Racecourse on November 7, 2017. The race will commence at 3PM AEDT. This translates to 2PM in Brisbane, 2:30PM in Adelaide and 12PM in Perth.

What channel is the Melbourne Cup on?

As in previous years, the race will be broadcast on the free-to-air network Channel Seven. Seven's coverage will begin at around 10am AEDT with the race scheduled for 3pm.

How to watch Channel 7's Melbourne Cup coverage online

You can live stream the 2017 Melbourne Cup on Channel 7's website.

How to watch the Melbourne Cup on Foxtel

The Melbourne Cup will be broadcast live on Fox Sports. You can follow along on Sky Racing 1 (channel 519) and Racing.com (channel 529.)

How to watch the Melbourne Cup on Twitter

For the second time ever, the Melbourne Cup will be streamed live on Twitter around the globe. Follow here from 3pm AEDT.

Other ways to watch the Melbourne Cup online

A lot of the bookmaking websites have live streaming options, although you’ll probably need to have an account or possibly even place a bet to gain access.

How to watch the Melbourne Cup overseas

The best way to watch the Melbourne Cup from overseas is the aforementioned Twitter feed. Note that Channel 7's online coverage may not work outside Australia if you don't have a suitable VPN setup.

How to watch the Melbourne Cup on your tablet or mobile phone

Again, the best choice for tablets and phones is via Twitter or the PLUS7 app for iOS and Android. If you're a Foxtel customer you can also use the Foxtel Go app. (This requires access to the appropriate sports package.)


Comments

    Don’t use the 7app. It’s dreadful.
    Use the Freeview app. Also has chromecast support.

    At my work, we have a chromecast plugged into a projector. Gonna watch it on a massive wall. Can’t do that with the 7app.

    Melbourne Cup shown on both Fox Sports and Sky Racing?

    Since when has this ever happened? Ch 7 has exclusive live rights to this event, so they would (probably) show it live on Racing.com since they have a share in the channel (but then why watch it in SD when you can watch it in HD on main) but Fox Sports (which FS channel btw?) and Sky would never get live coverage of the race. Sky Racing has traditionally had a 3 minute delay

Join the discussion!

Trending Stories Right Now