What Order To Watch The Marvel Netflix Series In, Before They Disappear

What Order To Watch The Marvel Netflix Series In, Before They Disappear
Contributor: Lauren Rouse

Long before the Disney+ era of WandaVision, Falcon and the Winter Soldier and the likes there was Netflix’s Marvel series. The streaming company had snapped up the rights to some lesser-known heroes – Daredevil, Jessica Jones, Iron Fist, Luke Cage and the Punisher – and it had plans to turn them into a little Netflix Marvel universe.

Things mainly went to plan with 13 seasons released across six different series, but eventually, one by one, Netflix’s Marvel shows were cancelled. Now Disney, the home of all things Marvel, is reclaiming each of these series.

Netflix announced that all seasons of Daredevil, Luke Cage, Jessica Jones, The Punisher, Iron Fist and The Defenders will be leaving the platform on February 28. Where they will end up is unclear but if you’ve never watched these Marvel shows before you have about two weeks to do so.

We’re here to help you out with your last-minute binge with the chronological order you should watch all the Marvel Netflix series in.

Marvel Netflix TV shows watch order

Netflix and Marvel's The Defenders
Marvel Netflix shows to watch in order. Image: Netflix

There are six different series in Netflix’s Marvel universe. Here’s a quick rundown of each:

  • Daredevil (3 seasons): Blinded as a young boy, Matt Murdock fights injustice by day as a lawyer and by night as the Super Hero Daredevil in Hell’s Kitchen, New York City.
  • Jessica Jones (3 seasons): Haunted by a traumatic past, Jessica Jones uses her gifts as a private eye to find her tormentor before he can harm anyone else in Hell’s Kitchen.
  • Luke Cage (2 seasons): A hoodie-wearing, unbreakable ex-con fights to clear his name and save his neighbourhood. He wasn’t looking for a fight, but the people need a hero.
  • Iron Fist (2 seasons): Danny Rand resurfaces 15 years after being presumed dead. Now, with the power of the Iron Fist, he seeks to reclaim his past and fulfil his destiny.
  • The Punisher (2 seasons): A former Marine out to punish the criminals responsible for his family’s murder finds himself ensnared in a military conspiracy.
  • The Defenders (1 season): Daredevil, Jessica Jones, Luke Cage and Iron Fist join forces to take on common enemies as a sinister conspiracy threatens New York City.

Each season of these Marvel shows was released sporadically over four years, but many intertwined with each other. Luke Cage appeared in Jessica Jones, the Punisher was introduced in Daredevil, and then everything came together in The Defenders – so watching in chronological order is important.

Here’s the chronological watch order for Netflix’s Marvel shows:

  • Daredevil – Season 1
  • Jessica Jones – Season 1
  • Daredevil – Season 2
  • Luke Cage – Season 1
  • Iron Fist – Season 1
  • The Defenders
  • The Punisher – Season 1
  • Jessica Jones – Season 2
  • Luke Cage – Season 2
  • Iron Fist – Season 2
  • Daredevil – Season 3
  • The Punisher – Season 2
  • Jessica Jones – Season 3

You can find all these seasons on Netflix until February 28, 2022.

Where will the Marvel Netflix series stream next?

Marvel Netflix shows to watch in order. Image: Netflix

As of right now, a new streaming home for Netflix’s Marvel shows hasn’t been announced.

The rights are being reverted to Disney so one can assume they’ll appear on Disney+ at some point in the future, potentially in the more adult-rated Star section.

It’s expected the Netflix Marvel series still won’t be considered canon in the MCU. However, Disney is already making use of some of these characters, as we saw with Daredevil’s appearance in Spider-Man: No Way Home, so it’s possible we haven’t seen the end of the line for the Defenders just yet.

The Cheapest NBN 1000 Plans

Looking to bump up your internet connection and save a few bucks? Here are the cheapest plans available.

At Kotaku, we independently select and write about stuff we love and think you'll like too. We have affiliate and advertising partnerships, which means we may collect a share of sales or other compensation from the links on this page. BTW – prices are accurate and items in stock at the time of posting.


6 responses to “What Order To Watch The Marvel Netflix Series In, Before They Disappear”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *