Here Are Your 2016 Eisner Award Nominees

Here Are Your 2016 Eisner Award Nominees

As easy as it is to decry how San Diego Comic-Con isn’t about comics any more, the gigantic convention is still home to one of the most prestigious awards in the industry, the Eisners. The list of nominees for this year’s awards are out and it is, as usual, jam-packed with amazing comics. There’s a ton of comics and creatives nominated across the board from giant publishers like Marvel and Image to the smallest indie outlets, reflecting the huge diversity of material on display in comics right now. There’s also a record number of nominations for female creators this year, with women appearing in 27 of the 30 categories, netting a total of 61 nominations (up from 44 last year). There’s a lot to love in these nominees too, from fantastic series like Southern Bastards, to Monstress and, yes, even the delightful Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, nominated for both Best New Series and Best Penciller in Erica Henderson. Hooray for comics!

Here’s a selection of the categories and their nominees, but head on over to the link below to see the full list.

Best Short Story

  • “Black Death in America” by Tom King and John Paul Leon, in Vertigo Quarterly: Black (Vertigo/DC)
  • “Hand Me Down” by Kristyna Baczynski, in 24 x 7 (Fanfare Presents)
  • “It’s Going to Be OK” by Matthew Inman, in The Oatmeal
  • “Killing and Dying” by Adrian Tomine, in Optic Nerve #14 (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • “Lion and Mouse” by R. Sikoryak, in Fable Comics (First Second)

Best Single Issue/One-Shot

  • A Blanket of Butterflies by Richard Van Camp and Scott B. Henderson (HighWater Press)
  • I Love This Part by Tillie Walden (Avery Hill)
  • Mowgli’s Mirror by Olivier Schrauwen (Retrofit/Big Planet)
  • Pope Hats #4 by Ethan Rilly (AdHouse)
  • Silver Surfer #11: “Never After” by Dan Slott and Michael Allred (Marvel)

Best Continuing Series

  • Bandette by Paul Tobin and Colleen Coover (Monkeybrain)
  • Giant Days by John Allison, Lissa Treiman, and Max Sarin (BOOM! Box)
  • Invincible by Robert Kirkman, Ryan Ottley, and Cliff Rathburn (Image/Skybound)
  • Silver Surfer by Dan Slott and Michael Allred (Marvel)
  • Southern Bastards by Jason Aaron and Jason Latour (Image)

Best Limited Series

  • Chrononauts by Mark Millar and Sean Murphy (Image)
  • The Fade Out by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips (Image)
  • Lady Killer by Joëlle Jones and Jamie S. Rich (Dark Horse)
  • Minimum Wage: So Many Bad Decisions by Bob Fingerman (Image)
  • The Spire by Simon Spurrier and Jeff Stokely (BOOM! Studios)

Best New Series

  • Bitch Planet by Kelly Sue DeConnick and Valentine De Landro (Image)
  • Harrow County by Cullen Bunn and Tyler Crook (Dark Horse)
  • Kaijumax by Zander Cannon (Oni)
  • Monstress by Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda (Image)
  • Paper Girls by Brian K. Vaughan and Cliff Chiang (Image)
  • The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl by Ryan North and Erica Henderson (Marvel)

Best Writer

  • Jason Aaron, Southern Bastards (Image), Men of Wrath (Marvel Icon), Doctor Strange, Star Wars, Thor (Marvel)
  • John Allison, Giant Days (BOOM Studios!)
  • Ed Brubaker, The Fade Out, Velvet, Criminal Special Edition (Image)
  • Marjorie Liu, Monstress (Image)
  • G. Willow Wilson, Ms. Marvel (Marvel)

Best Writer/Artist

  • Bill Griffith, Invisible Ink: My Mother’s Secret Love Affair with a Famous Cartoonist (Fantagraphics)
  • Nathan Hale, Nathan Hale’s Hazardous Tales: The Underground Abductor (Abrams)
  • Sydney Padua, The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage (Pantheon)
  • Ed Piskor, Hip-Hop Family Tree, vol. 3 (Fantagraphics)
  • Noah Van Sciver, Fante Bukowski, Saint Cole (Fantagraphics)

Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team

  • Michael Allred, Silver Surfer (Marvel), Art Ops (Vertigo/DC)
  • Cliff Chiang, Paper Girls (Image)
  • Erica Henderson, Jughead (Archie), Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (Marvel)
  • Joëlle Jones, Lady Killer (Dark Horse), Brides of Helheim (Oni)
  • Nate Powell, March: Book Two (Top Shelf/IDW)

Best Painter/Multimedia Artist

  • Federico Bertolucci, Love: The Tiger and Love: The Fox (Magnetic Press)
  • Colleen Coover, Bandette (Monkeybrain)
  • Carita Lupattelli, Izuna (Humanoids)
  • Dustin Nguyen, Descender (Image)
  • Tony Sandoval, A Glance Backward (Magnetic Press)

Best Cover Artist

  • David Aja, Hawkeye, Karnak, Scarlet Witch (Marvel)
  • Rafael Albuquerque, Ei8ht (Dark Horse), Huck (Image)
  • Amanda Conner, Harley Quinn (DC)
  • Joëlle Jones, Lady Killer (Dark Horse), Brides of Helheim (Oni)
  • Ed Piskor, Hip-Hop Family Tree (Fantagraphics)

Best Colouring

  • Laura Allred, Lady Killer (Dark Horse), Silver Surfer (Marvel), Art OPS (Vertigo/DC)
  • Jordie Bellaire, The Autumnlands, Injection, Plutona, Pretty Deadly, The Surface, They’re Not Like Us, Zero (Image); The X-Files (IDW); The Massive (Dark Horse); Magneto, Vision (Marvel)
  • Elizabeth Breitwiser, The Fade Out, Criminal Magazine, Outcast, Velvet (Image)
  • John Rauch, The Beauty (Image); Batman: Arkham Knight, Earth 2: Society (DC); Runaways (Marvel)
  • Dave Stewart, Abe Sapien, BPRD Hell on Earth, Fight Club 2, Frankenstein Underground, Hellboy in Hell, Hellboy and the BPRD, (Dark Horse); Sandman: Overture, Twilight Children (Vertigo/DC), Captain America: White (Marvel), Space Dumplins (Scholastic Graphix)

Best Lettering

  • Derf Backderf, Trashed (Abrams)
  • Steve Dutro, Blood-C, Midnight Society, Plants vs Zombies (Dark Horse)
  • Lucy Knisley, Displacement (Fantagraphics)
  • Troy Little, Hunter S. Thompson’s Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas (Top Shelf/IDW)
  • Kevin McCloskey, We Dig Worms! (TOON Books)

The awards show will take place on Friday, July 22, during San Diego Comic-Con.

[Comic-Con International]


  • Eisner? Wasn’t he that mediocre white guy that got far in the industry without doing much work? 😛

    (Let’s see if anybody picks up what I’m referring to)

    • I don’t know who you are referring to but that does sound an awful lot like Stan Lee lol

Show more comments

Comments are closed.

Log in to comment on this story!