Every Press Conference Replacing E3 And When You Can Watch Them In Australia [Updated]

Every Press Conference Replacing E3 And When You Can Watch Them In Australia [Updated]

With only a month to go, it’s time to start planning our Definitely Not E3 2022 schedule. This year is a little different because there is no E3 conference to speak of. Instead, this year will see revolve around a slate of digital showcases and press conferences you can watch from home. To make things a bit easier, we’ve put together a comprehensive list of every Not E3 2022 conference that’s been confirmed so far in Australian times. Some currently have times, and some have only planted a flag on a specific date. Others haven’t even decided on a day yet.

Updated /6/2022: Updated to correct the date for the Devolver Digital showcase. We apologise for the error, and blame it entirely on timezone conversion brain.


E3 2022

Insert funeral dirge here. E3 is of course cancelled in 2022, with neither an in-person nor digital show going ahead as planned. Unfortunate, we know, but it’s 2022 – we don’t need E3 to have a good time. Numerous publishers and platforms are stepping over E3’s still-warm corpse to proceed with the expensive showcases and announcements they already had in the works.

Below, you’ll find times and dates for every confirmed Not E3 2022 press conference in Australian times.

Upload VR Showcase

Friday, June 10, 2022

Where to see it: YouTube

ACT, NSW, QLD, TAS, VIC: 1:00 AM AEST

NT, SA: 12:30 AM ACST

WA: 11:00 PM AWST (Thursday)

NZ: 3:00 AM NZST

 

Summer Games Fest 2022 and Day of the Devs

Friday, June 10, 2022

Summer Games Fest has confirmed its dates for Friday, June 10. The 10th annual Day of the Devs showcase will kick off right after the main SGF broadcast wraps up.

Where to see it: Twitch/YouTube

ACT, NSW, QLD, TAS, VIC: 4:00 AM AEST

NT, SA: 3:30 AM ACST

WA: 2:00 AM AWST

NZ: 6:00 AM NZST

 

Devolver Marketing Countdown to Marketing

Friday, June 10, 2022

Nina Struthers, the great, powerful, and definitely fictional CEO of Devolver Digital will return for the indie publisher’s showcase. Titled ‘Devolver Marketing Countdown to Marketing’, we are definitely in for another wild ride. This is historically the best E3 conference of the lot, and I see no reason that’s about the change.

Where to see it: Twitch/YouTube

ACT, NSW, QLD, TAS, VIC: 8:00 AM AEST

NT, SA: 7:30 AM ACST

WA: 6:00 AM AWST

NZ: 10:00 AM NZST

 

Netflix Geeked Week

Saturday, June 11, 2022

Netflix Geeked Week kicks off on Saturday, June 11. This showcase will be largely about Netflix’s upcoming nerd-centric roster of shows and films, but may include announcements about its burgeoning games platform too.

Where to see it: Twitch/YouTube

ACT, NSW, QLD, TAS, VIC: 3:00 AM AEST

NT, SA: 2:30 AM ACST

WA: 1:00 AM AWST

NZ: 5:00 AM NZST

 

Tribeca Games Spotlight

Saturday, June 11, 2022

Where to see it: YouTube

ACT, NSW, QLD, TAS, VIC: 5:00 AM AEST

NT, SA: 4:30 AM ACST

WA: 3:00 AM AWST

NZ: 7:00 AM NZST

 

Guerilla Collective

Sunday, June 12, 2022

Where to see it: Twitch/YouTube

ACT, NSW, QLD, TAS, VIC: 1:00 AM AEST

NT, SA: 12:30 AM ACST

WA: 11:00 PM AWST

NZ: 3:00 AM NZST

 

Wholesome Games Direct

Sunday, June 12, 2022

Wholesome Games Direct has confirmed it will hold a June showcase in 2022. This is a showcase for indies of a particularly cute, cuddly, and family-friendly sort. If what you’re into is low-stress, low-intensity games with immaculate vibes, this is the showcase for you.

Where to see it: YouTube

ACT, NSW, QLD, TAS, VIC: 2:30 AM AEST

NT, SA: 2:00 AM ACST

WA: 12:30 AM AWST

NZ: 4:30 AM NZST

 

GamesRadar Future Games Show

Sunday, June 12, 2022

Where to see it: Twitch/YouTube

ACT, NSW, QLD, TAS, VIC: 3:00 AM AEST

NT, SA: 4:30 AM ACST

WA: 3:00 AM AWST

NZ: 7:00 AM NZST

 

Future of Play Direct

Sunday, June 12, 2022

Where to see it: YouTube

ACT, NSW, QLD, TAS, VIC: 3:30 AM AEST

NT, SA: 3:00 AM ACST

WA: 1:30 AM AWST

NZ: 5:30 AM NZST

 

The Xbox & Bethesda Games Showcase

Monday, June 13, 2022

Expect a lot of heavy hitters in this showcase, which will be the biggest for the entire season. What we’re prepared to bet on here and now: there won’t be any announcements from Activision Blizzard studios as Xbox’s acquisition deal with ABK is not yet complete. As a further note, if you live in New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, or the ACT, the 13th is the Queen’s Birthday public holiday.

Where to see it: Twitch/YouTube

ACT, NSW, QLD, TAS, VIC: 3:00 AM AEST

NT, SA: 2:30 AM ACST

WA: 1:00 AM AWST

NZ: 5:00 AM NZST

 

PC Gaming Show

Monday, June 13, 2022

The PC Gaming Show will return this year, also on Monday, June 13.

Where to see it: Twitch/YouTube

ACT, NSW, QLD, TAS, VIC: 5:00 AM AEST

NT, SA: 4:30 AM ACST

WA: 3:00 AM AWST

NZ: 7:00 AM NZST

 

Capcom Showcase

Tuesday, June 14, 2022

Where to see it: Twitch/YouTube

ACT, NSW, QLD, TAS, VIC: 8:00 AM AEST

NT, SA: 7:30 AM ACST

WA: 6:00 AM AWST

NZ: 10:00 AM NZST

 

Cancelled Or Postponed

EA Play Live

Bring the band back in, we need another funeral dirge. EA has confirmed that its EA Play Live event will not happen in 2022. Instead, EA says it will be revealing games from its forthcoming slate ‘when the time is right for them.’ That may mean it will hold a showcase later in the year, or simply roll out announcements as they come to hand. Based on the frequent Dead Space livestreams, we’d say the “news as it comes to hand” method is the one EA is going with.

 

And the rest

Publishers that regularly hold E3 conferences and haven’t announced anything yet: Nintendo, Ubisoft, and Square Enix. If/when these publishers stake their claim on a Not E3 2022 conference timeslot, we will update this piece with Australian times to reflect it. Some, like Ubi and Square, have made it clear they’ve got games included in the Summer Game Fest broadcast. That may be all we get from them this year. As for Nintendo, it’s now almost too late to announce a Direct broadcast unless it is a day or two prior to screening. Now or never, Ninty. Now or never.

 

Concluded events

505 Games Spring Showcase (Tuesday, May 17, 2022)

PlayStation State of Play June 2022 (Friday, June 3, 2022)

Sega (Friday, June 3, 2022)

Limited Run Games Showcase (Tuesday, June 7, 2022)

Sega (Sonic Central) (Wednesday, June 8, 2022)


Editor’s note: This piece can and should be considered a living document. If you see it return to the front page as we move closer to E3 season, it’s because we’ve added new information to it.

Comments

  • “Getting up at 3 AM is par for the course during E3 season, but to ask this of us on a public holiday. Xbox, I thought we were cool.”

    Wait what? You’re upset that this is happening on a day where you can sleep in and not go to work afterwards?

    • Presumably if it’s on a ‘school night’, Kotaku writers have an excuse not to work the next morning.

    • It’s E3, there won’t be much sleeping in the next morning, mostly rushing to gather all the info/videos and getting everything edited and posted for the morning I would guess.

  • Seriously David I’m not watching the Summer Games Fest at 4am next month but I will watch the replay on YouTube when I wake up hopefully we’ll get to see more detailed information from Ubisoft on Mario + Rabbids Sparks of Hope and also since Activision will be at this year’s Summer Game Fest now that Activision has delayed the next Call of Duty game which was scheduled to come out in 2023 next year but has been pushed to 2024 while Treyarch is working on the next Call of Duty that has now been delayed to 2024.
    I’m hoping to see a Spyro 4 reveal from Activision this year and a Tony Hawk Pro Skater 3 and 4 remake.
    I also want to see more detailed information from BANDAI NAMCO regarding the release of PAC-MAN MUSEUM+ to celebrate PAC-MAN’S 40th anniversary.
    Summer Game Fest hosted by Geoff Keighley broadcasting next month without E3 is definitely is going to heat up when we see more game reveals coming to console later this year and next year.

Show more comments

Log in to comment on this story!